Seraphina (Seraphina #1) by Rachel Hartman Review

I was quite looking forward to this book and finished it recently. I really enjoyed it although it was a little slow to start but once it got going, it was almost impossible to put down. I was torn between dying to find out what happened next and trying to slow down so that I could make the book last longer. Alas, the former won.

The narrative moves at a nice pace, not too slow that you start daydreaming even as you’re reading and not too fast that you feel rushed through the story. Seraphina is very likeable heroine, strong and full of spunk. One of the things I liked most about this book was how well developed the characters were and their growth as we progress through the story. I thought Glisselda develops especially well, initially I thought she would be the quintessential spoilt brat but I was glad to be wrong. Although I think through the course of the book Orma is the one character who perhaps grows the most (with the exception of Seraphina of course) I was very happy with that and I hope we see him again in the upcoming sequels.

Now, about the way it ended, I thought it was an appropriate end and thank you Miss Hartman for not ending on a cliffhanger. It was welcome relief. And thank you also for letting us have some hope for Phina and Lucian’s relationship without compromising either character.

Which brings me to the matter of the sequels, can I please start pleading already for the sequels and hope and pray that you finish them real soon!!! Pretty please!! 😀

Leave a Reply

