Books Left Unread

I think I’m going through a case of reader’s block. I didn’t think it existed except that I’ve gone through it before and it is quite debilitating. I find I am unable to choose what to read and when I do choose something, I am not satisfied with it. This might not be entirely true since I did quite enjoy Killer Instinct by Jennifer Lynn Barnes, All the Rage by Courtney Summer and Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch. Anyway, let’s begin.

The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

SED coverDid not finish! This was so unbelievably boring. There wasn’t much happening and the story just seemed to plodding along. I had a sinking feeling that the plot was very slowly going nowhere. And let’s not forget the two suitors neither of whom inspired any kind of excitement in me. It was going to be yet another case of “who will she choose” and I just didn’t care. So there, I’m done.

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

uprootedYet another book I could not bring myself to finish. Slow and boring and seemed like a take on Beauty and the Beast. The Dragon was a horrible man, he insulted and belittled Agneiszka at every turn and treated her like a simpleton. He never explained things to her and expected her to understand things immediately. And of course, by the end of the novel, they would have fallen madly in love. Nope!

Shattered Court (Four Arts #01) by M.J. Scott

shatteredI actually high hopes for Shattered Court. This is the third fantasy book I’ve picked up recently that hasn’t interested me enough for to me finish it. You know something is wrong when even as you’re still reading something, you’re thinking of alternatives. I read till it halfway and then abandoned it. Sophie can be quite annoying at times. Even when every instinct she has is screaming at her to get away and not to trust the Domina, she ignores that. Also, her relationship with Cameron is so ho-hum. And he’s pretty bland himself.

Maybe, for the time being, I should stop reading Fantasies, clearly the ones I picked up haven’t been very interesting. Maybe, I’m not being entirely fair to these books but for the time being, I can’t be bothered. They were uniformly disappointing, all three of them.

Leave a Reply

