Stolen Songbird (The Malediction Trilogy #01) by Danielle L. Jensen Review

StolensongbirdEh, it was okay. Honestly, I found myself more interested in the secondary characters Elise, Zoe, Victoria, Vincent, Marc and Anais (they better all live through the next book)

Cecile and Tristan, yet another case of unexplainable love. How did they fall in love? They spent so much of their time not trusting each other and with Tristan being mean (I’m talking about before Cecile found out his secret) but even after she did, he didn’t trust her. Even when she told him she loved him, he thought she was lying to him and if not to him, then she was lying to herself (wow, what a nice guy) Maybe, it was the bond that made them fall in love, at least it makes a wee bit more sense.

I also think that the Trolls are Fae who can no longer return to their realm of Faery. I may be wrong but I doubt that since Tristan mentioned the King of Summer and Queen of Winter and the fact that Iron makes them weak and separates them from their magic. Add to that, they can’t return to their homes because of the iron in their blood which also stole their immortality.

I almost gave up reading this one but figured I’d stick with it a while longer and while I didn’t hate it, I didn’t love it either. It was quite ho-hum. Also, I’m convinced that Cecile’s mother is Anushka, but I guess I’ll have to read the next book to find out. Anyway, I sincerely hope the characters I mentioned above, make it alive. Actually, come to think of it, Anais was probably the most selfless of all the characters. She stuck her neck out and helped out Tristan because she loves him knowing that he doesn’t love her and can’t be with her. (I don’t think she has the same problem as her sister but we’ll have to wait and see)

Leave a Reply

