Skye/Daisy and Team S.H.I.E.L.D Season 2 (second half) and Other Random Thoughts

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 3.19.30 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 3.20.58 PMI’ve been recently re-watching season 2 of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D and it struck me that sending Skye away was probably the worst mistake Coulson made with regard to Skye. He cut her off from the people she cared about and it also cut them off from her. They had no time to get used to this new Skye, the one with this awesome power. Sure they were scared but I think, given time and exposure to her, they would have come around.

When Simmons, Hunter and Bobbie said that Fitz should have told them, they had a right to know, they were right, regardless of the fact that I agree with Ftiz’s decision to keep Skye’s transformation between them. When Mac said that they needed protection from her, that was harsh but he still didin’t want to hurt and that was evident by the way they all reacted when they realised that Skye had heard everything they had said about her. I also got the feeling that Mac already blamed Skye for Tripps’ death so he had an additional chip on his shoulder.

Which brings me back to my original point, that Coulson should have kept Skye with him and the rest of the team. And she would have stayed with them if May hadn’t agreed with Andrew. And when Coulson confides in her that he knows sending Skye away was a bad decision, you can see the unease on her face but by then it is already too late.

Additionally, the decision to send Gonzales to meet with Jaiying instead of Coulson was another unwise decision. Skye didn’t trust Gonzales, she had no reason to and he didn’t trust her or others like her. It was easy for Jaiying to trick Skye into believing that Shield under Gonzales was more than capable to betraying them. She would have never have believed that of Coulson or even May had she stayed with Gonzales.

P.S. – I can’t help but wonder how Ward would have handled her transformation (the pre-Hydra Ward I mean) We know that he cared deeply for Skye, maybe even loved her. I am very curious to see how that would have played out. But I am fairly certain that he would have stuck with her and even accompanied her to Fury’s Safe-house. He would not have let her go alone. I know that Ward is the bad guy, but before that reveal, there were instances where we saw that he genuinely came to care for these people that he was sent to spy on and Skye especially. I am also pretty certain that he would have punched Mac in the face for what he said. And he would not let her feel isolated and a monster, he would have seen to that. I lament for all the SkyeWard moments we lost when we learned that he was with Hydra all along…

It’s strange but I actually like Ward more now than I did in season 1. He was a little too straight and I liked that as the season progressed, we saw more shades and layers in Ward. That complexity is what still makes Ward such a compelling character. And I for one, don’t want him to die. I don’t think he’s going to redeem himself. The only person he would have done that for is Skye and it is evident that he still hopes that there is a chance that maybe, just maybe, he can redeem himself in her eyes. I say this because when Coulson enlists his help in season 2 to go look for Skye, he goes with Coulson hoping that he’ll see her as well when Coulson finds her and perhaps she’ll see that he is capable of being good. Of course, in season 3, he is gunning for Coulson’s head and he of all people should know that Skye/Daisy still sees him as a father figure and losing Coulson would break her in a way nothing else could. Anyway, with so many episodes to go this season, the overall arc could go in any number of directions so I’m going to wait and watch. I have faith in the AOS writers that they won’t cut corners and have the audience feel cheated… So here’s waiting and watching…

Leave a Reply

