Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D Season 3B Theories

Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 11.48.36 AM

We’re nearing the middle of Season 3B and so far while things have been moving along, they have been moving slowly. We got a look at the future last week which tied in what we saw at the beginning of episode 11, Bouncing Back; the ship in space with blood floating around in zero gravity, we see a necklace with a cross and last week, we saw that there might be a S.H.I.E.L.D agent on board.

Now, Daisy saw someone die on the ship, we don’t know who it because neither does she. Next week, things get heated up with the entry of the much-anticipated Secret Warriors. If you watch the preview for the next episode, Coulson says that someone on the TEAM isn’t who they say they are. Now, I think there are a number of things happening here and also the preview also shows us things out of chronological order.

I’ve seen the preview a few times (yes, I do this when I get obsessed with a show, also the case with Supergirl) but I think Daisy assembles the Secret Warriors and together they manage to rescue the rest of the team fairly early into the episode. The trouble starts when they reach S.H.I.E.L.D headquarters. I don’t know why Daisy’s photo is up on the monitor along with the rest of the Inhumans, considering that Coulson knew her long before she transitioned and even that was partly because she was trying to save him and stop Hydra.

The rest of them are the unknowns, yes, even Lincoln. We actually saw that Elena was trying to stop the cartels and the corrupt police officers and didn’t even know that S.H.I.E.L.D existed. Joey had only recently transitioned when we met him and he was terrified. Therefore, I think that eliminates both of them. Which leaves us with Lincoln, the only true unknown on the team.

In the previous episode James alludes to Lincoln’s dark past, who then proceeds to tell Daisy what James was talking about but I don’t think that that was the entire truth, I think he’s not being completely honest. Also, he told Daisy that he would never hurt her and that kind of a declaration is almost always followed by hurting the person you claimed you’d never hurt. His loyalty to S.H.I.E.L.D is also questionable.

When he and Daisy learn that their entire team has been taken hostage, he’s very quick to point out that Daisy should call in the Secret Warriors, there is absolutely no hesitation on his part. I think he’s the Trojan horse. S.H.I.E.L.D, by which I mean Coulson and May trust him and Daisy clearly does, so that makes him the perfect person. And just in case he wasn’t on Hive’s side from the start, you may recall that in Spacetime, he was in the same room as Hive after Giyera injured him, is it not possible that Hive used his sand-dust thingy to mind control him the way he does with Giyera and the other Inhumans that Hydra brought him. I think it makes perfect sense that he’s going to be the mole.

On a side note, I am looking forward to seeing Hive and S.H.I.E.L.D in the same room. I think that confrontation is a long time and if the previous episode was any indication, Hive not only has access to his hosts’ memories, he also taps into their emotions. There are so many possibilities. Also, can we please have some Daisy and Hive/Ward interaction (and please let her not fall prey to his mind-control tricks)

Maybe, the end of the season will see a return of Grant Ward. I know that Coulson killed him and Hive can only possess a dead body. But what if Fitz and Simmons figure out a way to keep Ward alive and somehow drive out Hive. This is firmly in the realm of science-fiction and really out there as far theories go, but I just thought about putting it out there. Another way to stop him might be to let Andrew/Lash out to hunt him. But even that isn’t foolproof because Lash will go after any inhuman who crosses his path (except maybe Daisy, he could have killed her on a number of occasions but never went after her, I wonder why)

The other reason why I think that this season will see the return of Grant Ward is because I have a feeling that the end of the season will resolve the whole Hive thing. Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D doesn’t drag out plots needlessly (if anything there are times where I’d hoped that they’d given more time to certain arcs like Jaiying’s for instance) And correct me if I’m wrong but isn’t Brett Dalton signed on for the next season? I think that the Grant Ward who comes back may be a different one from the one we know and some of us hate.

The other reason why I think why we might have a return of Grant Ward is because Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D already lost Adrianna Palicki and Nick Blood’s Bobbi Morse and Lance Hunter respectively to Marvel’s Most Wanted, two very popular characters, I don’t think AoS can afford to lose another character especially one who has been with us since the beginning of the show. That’s also the reason why I think the rest of the team will be safe and none of them will end up dying, the core team at least.

Anyway, that’s all I can come up with for now, I’ll make additions as and when other things occur to me. Feel free to comment and let me know what you think…

Leave a Reply

